New Years Eve Makeup / Feature Friday Beauty Column

jmp blog beauty feature banner

Hello and welcome to another installment of my Beauty column (Feature Friday!) I styled a New Years theme shoot last week and I loved the makeup so much I decided to share how you can achieve this makeup look! This look is perfect for any Holiday parties you might attend throughout December.

(C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013

Firstly, I just wanna give a huge shout out to Hailey (pictured on the right) for doing a fabulous job on all the hair and makeup looks for the styled shoot I’m showing you today!! I love how the emphasis is on the makeup while the hair is simple and chic. You can read her awesome beauty blog HERE. Don’t miss out- go follow her blog!

The two looks for this shoot are great options for a daytime-to-nighttime look. On the left, we have the more natural, daytime version of the two looks. Then if you pin your hair up, and apply a brighter lip color, you’re nighttime ready! That is why I love these looks; they really will work for anyone! So this New Years Eve just decide how daring you want to be and here’s some help to get there…

Hailey explains how she accomplished her look, “My eye make up was a slew of the naked palettes naked 2 shadows, the lip color was revlon! I use Marc Jacobs blush in “irresistible” and Nars bronzer in “Laguna”, I also used the Maybelline color tattoo in “barely branded” and the Lorac pro eye primer.  I was wearing Benefit ‘they’re real’ mascara.”

Hailey also wore false lashes by Katy Perry to finish off her look!

Maureen’s overall look was similar with the exception of the falsies and her lip color which was a softer mauve from Covergirl, but the name has worm off! Don’t you hate when that happens? If you are looking for a “your lips but better” lipstick I shared my favorites in this blog post.

(C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013

The trick to pulling off a bolder lip and eye look is to keep everything else simple, and Hailey did exactly that. Her jewelry is understated (love those earrings!!) and her hair pulled away form her face, leaving the focus on her!

(C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013 (C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013

Hailey’s Red Nail Color- OPI “All I want for Christmas is OPI”

Both dresses are from Forever 21.

Do you have any tried and true Holiday-worthy makeup products? I would LOVE to hear about them in the comments below! Or if you use one of these looks please take picture and tag me/Hailey in it! We would love to see your take on it.

I hope you enjoyed this installment of (beauty) Feature Friday and I will see you next week with more tips, and reviews!

-Joy

Last Week’s Post

One response to “New Years Eve Makeup / Feature Friday Beauty Column

  1. Love the vintage inspired dresses!

Leave a Reply

