photo-ready makeup / Feature Beauty Column

Image

This week’s beauty feature is about how to get your makeup to stay put and fight fading, shine, and creasing. A definite must if you are doing your own makeup for senior photos, an engagement session or even your wedding! I used all of these products when I did my own bridal makeup for my wedding day. These are my go-to products when I’m having photos taken of myself, or when I need my makeup to last 18+ hours (Holidays, parties, etc.). I will be using these on my models this weekend for a styled shoot. I swear by this formula to get budge-proof makeup!

Image

After using a moisturizer, I start with a misting of Urban Decay’s de slick spray before I start applying any makeup. I have tried other setting sprays like Model in a Bottle and a few others but I like this the best because it doesn’t have a perfume smell like Model in a Bottle and it doesn’t change the appearance of my foundation. I also spritz a few sprays on my face after I’m completely done applying my makeup – lip products and all. This is the first and last step of my photo-ready makeup routine. Image

The second product I use is Smashbox photo finish primer in the oil free version. For everyday makeup, I wouldn’t use two primers (I would just use this one) but when I want it to last this is what I do. This primer serves has a smoothing base for your foundation.

Image

For my eyes, I start by using Mac’s Bare study eye base to even out my skin tone. This is a pinky-tan tone without sparkle or shine so it’s perfect for building shadow color. When I’m doing my everyday makeup this is the only step I use for priming my eyes.

Image

After Mac’s bare study, I use Urban Decay’s Shadow primer potion. This is the original one but I know they have ones that are made for using glitter shadows and ones that are tinted. A tube of this primer will last you ages and when I use this my shadow looks exactly the same at the end of the day as it did when I first applied it. In the fist image I had another (tarte brand) primer pictured. That can be an option for those who are looking to use all natural makeup.Image

A couple more tips: Beside using these primers, I set each liquid step with a powder. So if I use a cream blush, I set it with a powder blush and the same goes for foundation and concealer and gel eyeliner. I started doing this after watching Kandee Johnson’s tutorials and it definitely helps makeup last longer.

Thanks for stopping by for another installment of my feature beauty column!

To stay updated on posts and news, please like my facebook page !

4 responses to “photo-ready makeup / Feature Beauty Column

  1. What foundation do you use… or is that another blog? I love your makeup blog and well.. I love makeup — you should see my makeup drawer…lol ;)

  2. Pingback: New Years Eve Makeup / Feature Friday Beauty Column | Joy Michelle Photography

  3. Pingback: Food Photography + Recipe Card Design / A New Direction | Joy Michelle Photography

Leave a Reply

