Lavender tea in the woods styled shoot by Joy Michelle Photography

(C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013

Today I’m sharing some picks from my ‘Tea in the Woods’ Styled shoot on Willow Oak Flower & Herb Farm in severn, MD. When I decided months ago that I wanted to do a styled shoot I thought September would be the perfect time because it wouldn’t be too warm. I’m laughing now because I’m fairly certain I chose the hottest date in the history of September Maryland weather. It turned out to be over 90 degrees the day of the shoot but we worked through the heat and everything worked out smoothly! All the venders contributing really stepped up despite it all and I think it made us all that much more proud to have gotten through such a hot day. Also shooting in that heat makes me feel like I could take pictures in any weather condition now!

The theme of the shoot was inspired by lavender flowers and afternoon tea. Lavender is considered lucky so many brides choose to have it in their bouquets and wedding flowers. The venue of the shoot, Willow Oak Flower and Herb Farm, makes their own dried teas and herb sachets so it worked perfectly with the theme. Willow Oak provided both lavender flowers and dried lavender in muslin sachets for the shoot. I could go on and on about the florals in this shoot but I will just say that every inch and detail of the flowers are stunning! Be sure to check out the berries and details on the cakes.

(C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013 (C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013 (C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013

Speaking of cake, Sugar Bakers provided the cake and it was not only beautiful but tasty. And yes, I got to take it home! Confession: I had it for breakfast for the next few days! :) They even made the inside icing purple to go along with the shoot.

The stunning bridal gown is an original design from Mary’s Designer Bridal in Annapolis, Maryland. I just love the sweetheart neckline paired with the lace-up back- classic and beautiful. The full lace skirt, especially the detail along the hem, was my favorite part.

(C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013

(C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013 (C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013

I have a special place in my heart for beautiful design and stationery. I mean, lets be real… have a degree in graphic design and a total obsession with beautiful type and calligraphy so of course my heart would skip a beat over this incredible stationery suite by Emily Hein. I knew when I asked her if she wanted to design something for this shoot that she would knock it out of the park but seriously!? I’m in love.

(C) Joy Michelle Photography 2013

I want to thank the hair and makeup artist Sophia, the models, and my day-of styling and help Jeana. Enjoy this video of some behind the scenes of the shoot! The video is curtsy of Carlton Colby Designs!

I’m already talking with willow oak about another shoot for the spring- any ideas for a possible theme? Comment below!

-J

Vender credits. 
Photography, styling, and coordinating : Joy Michelle Photography
Venue & Florals: Willow Oak Flower & Herb Farm
Day-of styling/help: Jeana Lombard
Cake: Sugar Bakers
Hair & Makeup: Sophia Adele
Lavender Sugar: Trio3 Etsy Shop
Tea stamped Favor Bags: Sweet Clementine Weddings
Bridal Gown: Mary’s Designer Bridal 
White Lace Chair Decor: Devine Chair Design
Ruffled Ivory Chair Covers: The Dainty Lion Events
Purple Rag Banner: Sassy Classy Burlappy
Models: real-life couple Doug & Elizabeth
Stationery Design: Emily Hein 
 

2 responses to “Lavender tea in the woods styled shoot by Joy Michelle Photography

  1. Pingback: New Years Eve Party Styled Shoot / Planning a Styled Shoot | Joy Michelle Photography

  2. Pingback: How to Plan a Styled Shoot – The Complete Guide | Joy Michelle Photography

Leave a Reply

